//
you're reading...
Costa Rica

Monkey Love!

Dear readers, I’m back! After suffering with some kind of illness (nothing serious), we did some traveling, had some friends over… and wow, where does the time go? Anyway, today’s post is just pure fun – monkey love!

Hello there!

That's right, down here!

Looking for food or just admiring the beauty?

Betcha can't find us...

Here we come!

It's a baby!

We happened upon these beautiful creatures about 30 minutes south of our house in Esterillos Oeste, in a little place called Playa Palo Seco. We had just come from a few hours at the Manuel Antonio National Park, which is renowned for its access to wildlife. Well, we didn’t see much in the park, but our little detour to Palo Seco surely made up for it! Trust me, these were not taken with any kind of telephoto lens – just a regular Canon PowerShot from the front seat of the car. (And to give credit where it’s due, Arturo was our intrepid photographer.)

These monkeys (los monos) are a species called white-headed capuchins (Cebus capucinus), and you might recognize it as the type that you typically see in pictures with an organ grinder. Though you can’t tell from these pictures, we saw at least 10 monkeys in the trees. Any trivia buffs out there? What do you call a group of monkeys? (Answer: a troop.) These guys live in troops of up to 40 monkeys. They can grow to be up to 8.6 pounds, and they are omnivores, eating both insects and fruit. Check out more facts about the white-headed capuchin here.

I’ve been told that there are some monkeys that come to the edge of the beach here in Esterillos early in the morning, so I’ve started taking walks down there to scope them out. Nothing to report yet, but I’ll keep you posted!

About Danielle Hart

The three foundational aspects of my life, that keep me healthy and sane, are love, food and music. I am truly blessed to have the love of, and to give my love to, my husband, family and friends. I choose to surround myself with and to seek out healthy, yummy, nourishing food. The soundtrack of my life is upbeat, fun and totally danceable. As I begin this blog, I have embarked on a new journey to open my heart to new love, food and music. I hope to share some of my experiences here as a travelog for my friends and family back home in the US. As they say here in Costa Rica, pura vida!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Monkey Love!

  1. Great photos! I just put up a display on Costa Rica at Spencer’s school which I do every month for his International Passport Club. I chose Costa Rica this month because its on his study map but also so I could get a box on Costa Rica from the World Affairs Council and get free reading material. ANYWAY, I wrote up a card on the various animals of CR and learned a ton about these cute monkeys. They have a long life span and the oldest on record was 54 years. Now, the sloth is totally interesting. Will tell you more when we see you in 3 weeks!

    Heidi

    Posted by Heidi Rees | March 8, 2012, 11:50 pm
    • Heidi! Yes, they are pretty amazing creatures. How perfect that Spencer is learning about Costa Rica before your trip. I’m sure he will be so excited to see all the wildlife here. This morning we saw an iguana getting ready to cross the street. We also got pretty up close and personal with a sloth (I will post the picture soon). I’ve never seen anything like it. Can’t wait to see all of you and meet Charlotte!

      Posted by Danielle Hart | March 9, 2012, 2:01 pm

Leave a Reply

